fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

OSF awarded $600,000 grant for American Revolutions

The Oregon Shakespeare Festival has received a $600,000 grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation for American Revolutions: the United States History Cycle. This is the third three-year grant from the Mellon Foundation since 2009 for American Revolutions, which counts the Tony Award-winning "All the Way" among its commissions.

American Revolutions is the Oregon Shakespeare Festival’s 10-year commissioning program (2008-2017) of 37 new plays that look at moments of change in America's past. The next American Revolutions commission to premiere at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival will be "Roe," by Lisa Loomer, in 2016.

Oregon Shakespeare Festival American Revolutions commissions to date are: Tanya Barfield, Bill Cain, Culture Clash (Richard Montoya, Ric Salinas and Herbert Siguenza), Kristoffer Diaz, Michael Friedman, Frank Galati, Idris Goodwin, Kirsten Greenidge, Quiara Alegría Hudes, David Henry Hwang, Stephen Karam, Lisa Kron, Young Jean Lee, Lisa Loomer, Dominique Morisseau, the team of Jonathan Moscone and Tony Taccone, Lynn Nottage, Dan O’Brien, Robert Schenkkan, collaborators Rebecca Taichman and Paula Vogel, Naomi Wallace, UNIVERSES (Steven Sapp, Mildred Ruiz, William Ruiz), Rhiana Yazzie and Karen Zacarías.

American Revolutions has created partnerships with Arena Stage, CenterStage, Company One, Steppenwolf Theatre Company, Berkeley Rep, Penumbra Theatre Company, The Public Theatre, Seattle Repertory Theatre, and the Playwrights Center. Friedman’s commission is shared by American Revolutions and the Edgerton Fund for New Musicals.

Of the 24 American Revolutions commissions, the following nine have had premiere productions: "American Night: The Ballad of Juan José," by Richard Montoya and Culture Clash (2010); "Ghost Light," by Tony Taccone, conceived and developed with Jonathan Moscone (2011); "The March," by Frank Galati, adapted from E.L. Doctorow’s novel (2011 at Steppenwolf Theater Company, Chicago); "Party People," by UNIVERSES (2012); "All the Way," by Robert Schenkkan (2012); "The Liquid Plain," by Naomi Wallace (2013); Schenkkan’s "The Great Society" (2014); "Sweat," by Lynn Nottage (2015); and "Indecent" by Paula Vogel (2015).