fb pixel

Log In

Reset Password

Wauge, Cooper score Haudenschild wins

WHITE CITY — Making a drive from the back after winning the B main, Mark Wauge scored a big $1,500 IMCA modified victory Saturday night in the Roger Haudenschild Tribute at Southern Oregon Speedway.

Darrell Hughes II led most of the 30-lap race until being passed by Wauge and settling for second.

In the IMCA sport modified feature, Todd Cooper of Chico, Calif., grabbed the lead from Patti Ryland on lap 7 and went on to secure the $1,000 prize in the 20-lap race.

Josh King won the 20-lap dwarf car feature that saw a half dozen lead changes among three different drivers. Steve Thompson led all the way to capture the Super 4's 10-lap main event victory.

After rear-end problems in his heat race, Wauge had to win the 12-lap B main to get into the feature. Brian Poppa led five laps of the main event before being passed by $200 Crack-The-Whip winner Hughes II. Wauge started back in 19th and was already up to third by lap 13 of a race that only had one early yellow flag.

Wauge made an inside pass in Turn 4 to take second from Poppa on lap 15. He made a low pass in Turn 2 on lap 20 to take the lead from Hughes II. Wauge set a blistering pace from there and put some lapped cars between himself and Hughes II by the time the race was over. Jesse Bailey, Poppa and Randy McDaniel made up the rest of the Top 5.

IMCA MODIFIEDS — Heat Winner (6 Laps): Darrell Hughes II, Duane Cleveland, Zach Fettinger; Trophy Dash (4 Laps): Jesse Bailey; $200 Crack The Whip (6 Laps): Darrell Hughes II; B Main (10 Laps): Mark Wauge, Mark Carrell, Jeremy Ohlde; Main Event (25 Laps): Mark Wauge, Darrell Hughes II, Brian Popppa, Jesse Bailey, Randy McDaniel.

IMCA SPORT MODIFIEDS — Heat Winners (6 Laps): Mike Medel, Todd Cooper; Trophy Dash (4 Laps): Jimmy Lipke; $100 Crack The Whip (4 Laps): Fred Ryland; Main Event (25 Laps): Todd Cooper, Brian Cooper, Jorddon Braaten, Patti Ryland, Phillip Shelby.

SODCA DWARF CARS — Heat Winners (6 Laps): Chad Cardoza, Kalvin Morton; A Dash (6 Laps): Chad Cardoza; B Dash (8 Laps): Josh King; Main Event (20 Laps): Josh King, Kalvin Morton, Ryan Smith, Rob Gergel, Cody Peters.

SUPER 4’S — Heat Winner (6 Laps): John Barger; Main Event (10 Laps): Steve Thompson, John Barger, Bill Spencer.